Hope’s Compassion For Suffering


YOU MUST FIRST WATCH THIS VIDEO ON YOUTUBE…..WAIT FOR IT……SHE’S 8, IT TAKES 6 MINUTES FOR HER TO BREAK INTO HER PASSION!!!!!!!! BELIEVE ME, ITS WORTH IT! I HAD NEVER HEARD THESE WORDS FROM MY DAUGHTER UNTIL I DID THIS VIDEO WITH HER!

I started writing this post about 12 times…..I ended up deleting it. My words can not do justice to this little girl’s heart. I really struggled for weeks with letting her do what she wanted. I was afraid it would be traumatic. So much so, I made her wait three weeks. I watched the pre-haircut interview over and over again…I wondered if she would regret it. I questioned her intent. I questioned her passion. She never wavered. We had many conversations about why she was choosing to do what she was……She has only had three “trims” in her short 8 years here on earth. I never understood what was behind the intent.

I think we underestimate the suffering our children endure and bounce back from.

When Hope commented on the video “our cheesy fight song” that it was OUR fight. She said she wanted a “fight song” too. (I’m in process of creating her beautiful and elegant story) It was as if she grabbed on and was part of it. It took a lot of disecting for me to really understand SHE IS IN THIS FIGHT TOO! I had only boiled her struggle down to her own suffering. I had not stopped to think that her looking over my shoulder at other kids with cancer, that she was identifying with their siblings. That she in fact, had grown a beautiful compassion for the suffering of these other children with cancer. She has seen so many family photos with a bald child. She had put herself in their place…….she had considered her own bald head. She had tried to feel what they might be feeling. She is 8……going on 50, with life experience…..

A beautiful heart that deserved to do what she felt was right and Godly. She was offering an act of sacrifice. Who am I to say no to that? I had no idea when I interviewed her, what her heart really was telling her. I know this kid. I was fidgeting while filming, because I had never heard out of her mouth what she was saying verbalized so clearly. She embodied every bit of what she has taken in from this experience….There just are no words I can speak for her.

Her experience counts too……..she has already sacrificed much personally and stuck like glue to her needy brother’s side. She has acquiesced personal space to accommodate his neediness to have someone by his side day and NIGHT. She “visits” her personal space to change clothes or ocassionaly play with her personal toys. She gives way more than she understands. I see it everyday when I put the kids to bed in the firehouse. I know she has commited herself to filling a void of fear for her brother’s sake.

John 15:13Good News Translation (GNT)

13 The greatest love you can have for your friends is to give your life for them.

She has given her personal space, friendships, normalcy, innocence, freedom, and passions away for her brother. I don’t know many people who will willingly give that away for another’s good. She is the gracious embodiment of this verse. She doesn’t complain that she can’s sleep alone, or have alone time. She is John John’s constant companion.

So, yes, His fight has become Hers. She has given that to her brother.

I can not find anything more beautiful on the face of this earth. So, I let her cut her hair.

Her response was one of victory. I think that is to be honored.

My mind is again blown by my beautiful little gifts from God,

Faith

One thought on “Hope’s Compassion For Suffering

  1. Pingback: Hope’s Compassion For Suffering | God'sfaith's Weblog

Leave a Reply

