What to do with that Pumpkin?!


Those lovely pumpkins that you have for decoration need to be dealt with. You have two choices…they either rot….or you eat em! I personally like choice 2. I adore pumpkin in three forms. Pumpkin strusel muffins, pumpkin cookies, and pumpkin bread.

Pumpkin Bread

Pumpkin-Apple Strusel Muffins

Pumpkin Cookies

If you noticed that I go through Allrecipes, It is because the site rocks! I can pull up recipes and sort them by rating. It takes the guessing out of choosing between recipes. ‘Cause, if 300 people thought it was good…chances are I will think so too!

To break down a pumpkin, all you do is gut it. Bake it at in a covered dish until soft (little water in the pan helps), and scrape the pumpkin out. Mash it up, it freezes beautifully and you can use it in so many recipes. The obvious one that is not listed is pumpkin pie. Beats buying the canned stuff! Don’t let those pumpkins rot! In fact, I will be buying some on post-halloween clearance this week at my local produce spot! P.S. pumpkin is a vegetable in my book in any form, which means I will be eating pumpkin cookies this week for breakfast (this is my cookie justification this week)!

Faith

One thought on “What to do with that Pumpkin?!

  1. Well, what I usually do is split the pumpkins in half after cleaning them. Smaller if you have several. Chunks are good, In your case I would put them in the dutch oven or large casserole pan with a half to an inch of water. Bake until tender at about 350 for, oh 45 min or so. The water helps to steam the pumpkin so it dosen’t dry out. You don’t need to submerge the pumpkin or anything (that would wash out the vitamins) just enough water to make some steam, cover the pan or oven with a lid or foil…

Leave a Reply

